Skip to main content

Amazon Refines Customer Review Process With New Ratings Options

amazon reviews It’s always been easy to post a review on Amazon; simply jot down a few sentences, select a star rating, and you’re done. It’s so easy to post a review, in fact, that it’s also easy to miss important details.

That doesn’t help readers, and it doesn’t help Amazon, which is why Amazon has added more options. In addition to the star rating, Amazon has added extra dropdown menus which invite reviewers to describe the quality of the writing, the amount of sex and violence in the book, and other details.

click to embiggen

 

The new review system was first noticed by Self Publishing Review, which notes that:

At the bottom of the page it says: “Write your reviews using the traditional review authoring page” so this is a beta system. Time will tell if this will be helpful and/or abused. It could potentially lead to a more reviews, as it caters to people who might have trouble articulating themselves. Perhaps it will lessen the number of reviews saying “Loved it” or “Hated it” as the total review. Or, worse, those people who write reviews like, “This arrived to me undamaged.”

The new description options are optional if you want to simply leave a star rating or a text review, but I don’t think Amazon has worked out all the bugs.

I tried to leave a review, and after I rated the writing quality and then decided not to rate, I was stuck with no option but to use that rating (or start over). I couldn’t finish the review without selecting an option from each of the dropdown menus.

Luckily I was able to get around that issue by resetting the page and simply starting over.

All in all, this is a good move on the part of Amazon.  I’m sure I’m not the only reader who has put down a book in frustration with the writing style, tone, or amount of extraneous sex or violence. By offering specific prompts for these areas of concern, Amazon is helping readers make more informed decisions.

That said, I would hope that Amazon’s next move will be to make it easier to start a review. Currently you have to navigate to a book’s listing, then open the "all reviews" page, and finally click a button so you can write a review.

It would be nice if I didn’t have to dig so deep; perhaps Amazon could include a link in the sales email, or perhaps a button on the book’s listing page.

Edit: Scott Lewis pointed out in the comments that there is a link on the book’s listing page; it’s just way the heck down at the bottom of the page (that’s why I had never seen it).

SPR

Similar Articles


Comments


Will Entrekin March 23, 2015 um 10:36 am

Wow. This could be really, really cool.

I wonder if part of that digging is that Amazon wants to encourage people to review from within the book; every time I’ve finished a book that wasn’t a personal document lately, the app has asked me if I’d like to review it. And I think I did a couple of times.

Nate Hoffelder March 23, 2015 um 10:41 am

Some of us also buy paper books 😉 .

Will Entrekin March 23, 2015 um 11:59 am

They’re printing ebooks now? Whatever will they think of next?

😉

Nate Hoffelder March 23, 2015 um 12:11 pm

I’ve heard rumors that someone is thinking about turning ebooks into movies!

puzzled March 23, 2015 um 4:18 pm

Gee, I wish there was a place that me and my friends could go to watch these ebook inspired movies, with very large screens, food & drink and other stuff to do afterwards (or before)…

Nate Hoffelder March 24, 2015 um 11:26 am

That sounds like a great new idea for a business! I’m meeting with a couple VCs tomorrow, and I’ll see how much they might want to invest.


Scott G. Lewis March 23, 2015 um 12:29 pm

Are you specifically referring to the new beta review page, or that in general you wish it were easier to submit reviews?

For me, there are two easy ways to get to a review:

1) On the product information page itself, under the few reviews it shows, right below the link to “See all XXX customer reviews” there’s a button “write a customer review”.

2) On the “Your Order” summary in your account, each order has a “Write a product review” button.

Nate Hoffelder March 23, 2015 um 12:32 pm

I don’t see that first one. Strange.

Edit: No, it’s there; I just never scrolled far enough. Thanks!


Cassie March 23, 2015 um 12:36 pm

I just go to my account and there’s a link to review my purchases. I don’t have to navigate to the actual book page unless it’s something I bought elsewhere or was given to me by the author for free.
This is a great idea. I hate seeing people leave reviews about the delivery, whether or not the book arrived in pristine condition, or ordering experience rather than saying something about the contents of the book.


Amazon Customer Reviews | Into the Wonder March 23, 2015 um 1:51 pm

[…] Amazon has refined its system for customer reviews, as Jennifer Becton describes in her latest post: […]


Doug March 23, 2015 um 3:58 pm

B&N once had "detailed ratings" with 16 different categories in their user reviews. Not that it helped their user reviews be any more useful. As far as I know, they don’t do that any more. I don’t think they even show the detailed ratings that were entered back when.


Garrison L. March 23, 2015 um 5:00 pm

This seems like a helpful service. I always found Amazon to be somewhat poor as a book discovery service (in terms of random browsing to find something that appeals), so if they could leverage this into better discovery, I think it would be a win all-around. Not sure if that’s their endgame with this though.


R March 23, 2015 um 10:16 pm

Should add "any religious content" there. Not everyone wants to read books that constantly talks about "God’s love" or it is "God’s will" that happens. I try to avoid books that contains "God" but it often fails.

Scott G. Lewis March 23, 2015 um 10:25 pm

Or basket weaving. I read a lot of religious books, but I try to avoid books about baskets. Or weaving. Or worse: basket weaving.

I mean, since we are singling out book categories here and all.

Moriah Jovan March 23, 2015 um 11:06 pm

Also, dogs. I hate dogs. Especially dogs that get their own POV as if it’s cute. It’s not. I don’t want to read that.

Nate Hoffelder March 23, 2015 um 11:10 pm

Damned chihuahuas …

Moriah Jovan March 23, 2015 um 11:18 pm

Yippy-yappy dogs. The worst.

hhd March 24, 2015 um 4:28 pm

I agree about the religious content; nothing wrong with sex though. Whether god exists or not makes no difference … I just don’t want to read about it.

Jeremiah Zeiset March 24, 2015 um 4:55 pm

…without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him (Hebrews 11:6)

Nate Hoffelder March 24, 2015 um 5:54 pm

Can we all just agree to disagree, please?


Michele R March 24, 2015 um 11:10 am

Hopefully it will stop the negative reviews that are about other reviews. This skews the rating for the actual item/author which is not only unfortunate, but should not be allowed.


Holding out on EPUB3 Gets Harder as UX Gets Better | Digital Book World March 25, 2015 um 8:15 am

[…] Amazon Adds Book Review Tools (Ink, Bits & Pixels) Amazon fleshes out the range of options at readers’ disposal for how they share feedback with other potential readers, including information on book’s predominant mood and how much violence it contains. Related: In Ebook Discovery, Who Gives the Best Recommendations? […]


Amazon Watch (13/2015) | Holger Ehling Worldwide Blog March 26, 2015 um 9:37 am

[…] einem und fünf Sternen vergeben werden, wird es meistens nicht. Deshalb will Amazon jetzt das System verfeinern und zukünftig Standard-Felder ausfüllen lassen. Dadurch bekommt die verehrte Kundschaft etwas […]


The Kindle Chronicles – TKC 348 R. U. Sirius and Jay Cornell April 3, 2015 um 10:24 am

[…] “Amazon Refines Customer Review Process With New Ratings Options” by Nate Hoffelder at Ink, Bits & Pixels – March 23, 2015. […]


Symantha Reagor April 12, 2015 um 4:34 pm

Registration is Now Open!
Featured speakers for the June 25 – 28, 2015 workshop include:
Claire Eddy, Senior Editor, Tor/Forge Books
Stephen Saffel, Senior Acquisitions Editor, Titan Books
Suzie Townsend, New Leaf Literary and Media
Click here to register
Early Bird Special Weekend Registration lasts until May 1.
 
 Workshop Approvals
If you submitted a workshop proposal for this year’s IYWM workshop, keep on eye on your email because we will be sending out approvals very soon!
 
 Industry NewsAmazon Refines Customer Review Process With New Ratings Options (the-digital-reader.com/)
BuzzFeed Launches Emerging Writers Fellowship (ElectricLiterature.com)
 
Free Fantasy Writing Contest in honor of Terry Pratchett 
Echo of Another World
April 7 – May 5
Found this interesting contest the other week and wanted to share it with the IYWM community. They are accepting fiction in the sci-fi/fantasy genre, up to 15,000 words. Novel excerpts are encouraged. Authors will collect community votes, and the first, second, and third winners will be chosen by the Inkitt staff from the top 10% of entries.
** 1st Place – 5 printed-and-bound copies of story with cover created by Inkitt’s designer; $40 Amazon gift card
** 2nd Place – $30 Amazon gift card
** 3rd Place – $20 Amazon gift card
 
For Fun!Book Art Is Awesome: Large-Scale Installations (BookRiot.com)
 
Craft Tips and Tricks
“Remember: when people tell you something’s wrong or doesn’t work for them, they are almost always right. When they tell you exactly what they think is wrong and how to fix it, they are almost always wrong.” ? Neil Gaiman
How NOT to Sell Books: Top 10 Social Media Marketing No-Nos for Authors  (AnneAllen.blogspot.com)
24 Thoughts on Sexism, Feminism, YA, Reading, and The Publishing Industry (stackedbooks.org)
Self-Published Authors: 10 Tips on How to Email an Illustrator  (kmcmorris.blogspot.com)
 
Alumni Publications
Victoria Thompson, Murder on Amsterdam Avenue (Gaslight Mystery Book 17)
Frank and Sarah put their family business on hold to investigate the death of an old family friend. As they unravel secrets that reach back to the War Between the States, they also discover that they are in the company of a very present danger…
Aubrey Gross, Between the Seams<br /> ">Chase Roberts is the quintessential Good Guy. Attractive, intelligent and successful, he’s the man any woman would love to take home to Mama. Except there’s one small problem: Chase never got over his former best friend—and first love—Jolene Westwood, who broke his heart as a teen. All grown up with two thriving businesses, Chase has enough to worry about. But when Jo comes home to help take care of her grandmother, Chase finds that the heart doesn’t care one bit about timing.
 
 Featured Blog Post
This could be your time to shine!
Submit your blog or become a guest blogger on the IYWM blog.
Just email [email protected](dot)com


Valerie Shaw July 26, 2016 um 6:36 pm

Not sure if I am in the right place but need a little help, I like to read customer book reviews and if I clicked on a reviewers name it brought up all the books they had reviewed but I can’t seem to do this now, when I click on a name nothing happens


Write a Comment