Skip to main content

Google Play Books Updated – Now Live in Portugal, Austria, Ireland, and Belgium

google play books itunesGoogle quietly expanded their ebookstore into 4 new countries yesterday, bringing the total number of countries where they sell ebooks to 18. eBook lovers in Portugal, Austria, Ireland, and Belgium can now buy ebooks from Google.

Up until Tuesday these countries only had access to the music section and Android apps section of Google Play.

The Android app was also updated yesterday, and in addition to the new language support Google also fixed a number of bugs. According to the changelog you should no longer have any problems opening Japanese ebooks, and the TTS function is no longer going to stumble when saying a book’s title.

google play books

The Google Play Books app for iPad and iPhone was also updated yesterday and it might offer a few hints about Google’s future plans. That app gained support for a number of languages: Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Greek, Hungarian, Iberian Portuguese, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, and Swedish.

Google doesn’t currently sell ebooks in all of those languages, but it looks like they plan to start selling the ebooks some time in the future.

Google Play Books is currently available in :

  1. Australia
  2. Austria
  3. Belgium
  4. Brazil
  5. Canada
  6. France
  7. Germany
  8. India
  9. Ireland
  10. Italy
  11. Japan
  12. Mexico
  13. Portugal
  14. South Korea
  15. Spain
  16. Russia
  17. United Kingdom
  18. United States


Google Play


Similar Articles

No Comments

Write a Comment