Skip to main content

Voting for the Fan Choice Dragon Awards Ends on 28 August

These awards have received almost no press attention, but did you know that the second-annual Dragon Awards are being voted on right now?

Launched in part as a reaction to admissions that the Hugos aren’t fan awards, but actually belong to the SF clique that controls Worldcon (so said George RR Martin), the Dragon Awards feature an open nomination and voting process.

The inaugural Dragon Awards were divided by genre and form but did not separate books based on length (a commercial distinction more than artistic). Last year’s awards included categories which covered SF and fantasy (traditionally the domain of the Hugo Awards), comics books, horror (Bram Stoker Awards), video games, and tv/movie works.

This year the awards will be divided into 15 categories:

  1. Best Science Fiction Novel
  2. Best Fantasy Novel (Including Paranormal)
  3. Best Young Adult/Middle Grade Novel
  4. Best Military Science Fiction or Fantasy Novel
  5. Best Alternate History Novel
  6. Best Apocalyptic Novel
  7. Best Horror Novel
  8. Best Comic Book
  9. Best Graphic Novel
  10. Best Science Fiction or Fantasy TV Series
  11. Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Movie
  12. Best Science Fiction or Fantasy PC / Console Game
  13. Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Mobile Game
  14. Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Board Game
  15. Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Miniatures / Collectible Card / Role-Playing Game

Nominations for this year’s awards closed on 24 July, and voter registration is going to close on 28 August.

The voting itself will continue until October.

image by MelkiaD

Similar Articles


Frank July 28, 2017 um 9:06 am

You mentioned these awards last year and I voted for them. I plan to do so again.

Write a Comment